top of page
Raquel Herzog Gründerin SAO Association

«After the first week of volunteering, it was clear to me that I wanted to make a longer-term and sustainable commitment to displaced people.»

History

SAO Association was founded on 24 February 2016 by Raquel Herzog after she volunteered in Lesvos in 2015 to help rescue refugees at sea.

2016 Foundation of SAO Association

2017 Opening Bashira Day Centre Lesvos

2018 Opening Amina Day Centre Athens

2019 Start Back on Track Academic

2020 Start Back on Track Vocational

Milestones

SAO Van

Jan 2016 - Feb 2017

SAO Van

The SAO van was used to bring people arriving by boat to the camps and bus stations. It was also used to bring people from Moria and volunteers to the warehouse "Attika" and back. Additionally, it was used to distribute aid to displaced people all over the island.

At night, the SAO van became a mobile warehouse at the beach for rescue foils, woollen blankets and dry clothes and countless freezing and drenched children were warmed up in it after their arrival.

Because of its eye-catching colour, the SAO-Van was known all over Lesvos.

SAO Attica Warehouse

Mar 2016 - Feb 2017

Relief supplies warehouse, Lesbos

SAO initially ran the largest and only public warehouse for relief goods in Greece on Lesbos. We rented the location in 2016 and received donations from all over the world. These were sorted, stored, delivered and handed out to those who picked them up. The donations went to refugees, camps and other NGOs on Lesbos and mainland Greece, as well as to people in need in the local population.

 

In February 2017, SAO handed over the warehouse to the local organisation ATTIKA Human Support.

SAO stonehouse

Mar - Aug 2016

stone house

After the borders were closed, displaced people were stuck in Greece. From March to August 2016, thousands lived in inhumane conditions in the port of Piraeus. A group of volunteers led by Renata Blazková, who was later program manager at Bashira Day Centre, took care of the approximately 1300 people living in and around the so-called "Stonehouse", 24 hours a day, seven days a week. They distributed donations in kind, provided minimal medical care, organised baby food and better accommodation for those in particular need of protection, and regularly took people to the hospital in their van.

camp report.jpg

Apr - May 2016

Camp Assessment Tours

SAO initiated and carried out a significant research effort in April 2016. On two comprehensive tours, a group of volunteers, including the current SAO Field Director Tereza Lyssiotis, took an inventory of the 46 refugee camps newly established on the Greek mainland after the EU-Turkey deal. Volunteers regularly completed the report on the ground until the camps were closed. The report is still publicly available today.

bit.ly/GreekCampReport

raquel herzog sea rescue sao

Oct 2015 - Mar 2016

Emergency response

In October 2015, Raquel Herzog flew to Lesbos to volunteer to provide emergency aid for arriving boat refugees on the beaches.
After she founded SAO in February 2016, the association continued to be active on the beaches with several volunteers. At night, there was a lookout for boats north of the island and on the coast around the airport. At the critical moment of landing, the frightened and wet refugees were supported and provided with first aid, dry clothes, water and energy bars on land. The SAO van transported elderly, physically challenged and injured people to the UNHCR buses that took the people to the camp for registration.

SAO Association logo

Name and logo

 

Sao is a nymph from Greek mythology, one of the 50 daughters of the sea gods Doris and Nereus. The sea nymph (Nereid) protected and rescued shipwrecked people in dangerous waters. A stylised Sao adorns our logo.

bottom of page

Raquel Herzog Gründerin SAO Association

«Nach der ersten Woche im Einsatz als Freiwillige war mir klar, dass ich mich längerfristig und nachhaltig für Menschen auf der Flucht einsetzen will.»

Geschichte

2016 Gründung SAO Association

SAO Association wurde am 24. Februar 2016 von Raquel Herzog gegründet, nachdem sie im Dezember 2015 auf Lesbos einen Einsatz als Volontärin in der Seenotrettung von Geflüchteten leistete.

2017 Opening Bashira Centre Lesbos

2018 Opening Amina Centre Athens

2019 Start Back on Track Academic

2020 Start Back on Track Vocational

Ehemalige Projekte

SAO Association Weather Report

Sep 2016 - Apr 2018

Weather Reports

Verhindern, dass Menschen im Mittelmeer ertrinken: Die SAO-Wetterwebsite bereitete für Flüchtende Wetterdaten auf. Angaben zu Sturm und hohem Wellengang sollten Überfahrten und damit mögliche Tote verhindern.

Diese Wetterdaten wurden für die Türkei, Griechenland, Lybien, Ägypten und Italien stündlich aktualisiert und zweimal täglich an andere NGOs, Volunteers- und Flüchtlings-Netzwerke weitergegeben. Sie waren Smartphone-optimiert und in Englisch, Farsi und Arabisch verfasst.

SAO Van

Jan 2016 - Feb 2017

SAO Van

Der SAO-Van spielte auf Lesbos eine wichtige Rolle, da damit Flüchtende auf der ganzen Insel mit Hilfsgütern beliefert wurden. Wegen seiner auffälligen Farbe war er auf der ganzen Insel bekannt. 2016 brachte der Van mit dem Boot ankommende Flüchtende zu den Lagern und Busstationen oder er transportierte Geflüchtete aus Moria und Volunteers von und in unser Lagerhaus «Attika».​ Nachts wurde der SAO-Van am Strand ein mobiles Lager für Rettungsfolien, Wolldecken und trockene Kleider und unzählige frierende und durchnässte Kinder wurden nach ihrer Ankunft darin aufgewärmt.

SAO Attika Warehouse

Mar 2016 - Feb 2017

ATTIKA Warehouse

«Attika» auf Lesbos war zu Beginn das grösste und einzige öffentliche Lagerhaus für Hilfsgüter in Griechenland. SAO führte das Lagerhaus 2016. Wir erhielten Spenden aus der ganzen Welt. Diese wurden sortiert, gelagert, ausgeliefert und an Selbstabholer ausgehändigt. Die Spenden gingen an Flüchtende, Lager und andere NGOs auf Lesbos und dem griechischen Festland, sowie an bedürftige Menschen der örtlichen Bevölkerung auf Lesbos.

Im Februar 2017 übergab SAO Attika an die lokale Organisation ATTIKA Human Support.

SAO stonehouse

Mar - Aug 2016

Stonehouse

Nach der Schliessung der Grenzen sassen Flüchtende in Griechenland fest. Von März bis August 2016 lebten Tausende unter unmenschlichen Bedingungen im Hafen von Piräus. Eine Gruppe Freiwilliger unter der Leitung von Renata Blazková, die vorher in «Attika» arbeitete, kümmerte sich um die rund 1300 Menschen, die in und um das sogenannte «Stonehouse» lebten, 24 Stunden am Tag, 7 Tage die Woche. Sie verteilten Sachspenden, leisteten minimale medizinische Versorgung, organisierten Babynahrung und bessere Unterkünfte für besonders Schutzbedürftige oder brachten regelmässig Menschen mit ihrem Van ins Spital. 

SAO camp assessment

Apr - Mai 2016

Camp Assessment Tours

Eine wichtige Recherchearbeit hat SAO im April 2016 initiiert und durchgeführt: Auf zwei umfassenden Touren hat eine Gruppe von Freiwilligen, zu denen auch die jetzige SAO Field Director Tereza Lyssiotis gehörte, eine Bestandsauf-nahme der 46 nach dem EU-Türkei-Deal auf dem griechischen Festland neu erstellten Flüchtlingscamps vorgenommen. Der Report wurde bis zur Auflösung der Camps von Freiwilligen vor Ort regelmässig ergänzt und ist auch heute noch öffentlich einsehbar. 

bit.ly/GreekCampReport

raquel herzog seenotrettung sao

Oct 2015 - Mar 2016

Seenotrettung

Im Oktober 2015 flog Raquel Herzog nach Lesbos um sich als Freiwillige in der Seenotrettung zu engagieren. Nach der Gründung von SAO im Februar 2016 war der Verein weiterhin in der Seenotrettung aktiv. Nachts wurde sowohl im Norden der Insel, als auch an der Küste um den Flughafen nach Booten Ausschau gehalten. Im kritischen Moment der Landung wurden die verängstigten und durchnässten Flüchtenden unterstützt und an Land mit erster Hilfe, trockenen Kleidern, Wasser und Energieriegeln versorgt. Ältere, körperlich eingeschränkte und verletzte Menschen wurden mit dem SAO-Van zu den UNHCR-Bussen, die die Menschen ins Camp zur Registrierung brachten, gefahren.

SAO Association Logo

Name und Signet

 

Sao war eine der 50 Töchter der Meeresgötter Doris und Nereus. Die Meeresnymphe (Nereïde) hatte die Aufgabe, Schiffbrüchige in gefährlichen Gewässern zu beschützen und zu retten. Eine stilisierte Sao ziert unser Signet.